Tuesday: changing the plan

 

foto 5 (1) foto 2 (1) foto 3 (1) foto 4 (1)

This day we went to Sittard to test our gut in the real world. My first idea was that we had to go climbing trees and running through the mud but the reality was very different. Positively different in fact. We were divided into groups by crushing a balloon on the ground. Inside was a colored piece of paper and that was your group.

Then we had to do several activities such as little games to get to know each other and our trainer Karina. After every game we spoke about what we learned and how we felt about it afterwards. With that we looked at our value contract which we had to unofficially sign by thumbs up or down before the start of the day.

Elements from the value contract were:

–          Be there

–          Safety

–          Letting go and proceed

–          Showing respect for someone’s choice

–          Nothing is mandatory

 

We also had to do an activity which involved climbing a sort of a ladder with steps which were about 1,5 meters above each other.  First we had to get ourselves in some sort of bridle and put on a helmet. My task was to secure someone else with two others. That was very exciting because you had to listen to the climbing person very well and you had to make sure she didn’t fall off. I didn’t do this activity because of two reasons: first, I thought that I would never be able to get up the first step and even if I did I never would have gotten any higher than that. Second, I thought the second height activity was much more fun so I said to myself that I would go and try that one. One disappointment, we only get to do one height activity so I never got the chance to do that. So that was a pity, that I skipped the first one. Because now I didn’t do stuff that I wouldn’t normally do.

Another activity was one where we were blindfolded. Then we had to make our way through a little piece of bushes and trees while we needed to hold on to a rope which was strained to the trees. This was really scary at first because I don’t like it when you don’t see anything at all. First I thought about peeking but then I thought I just had to try and do it without looking and just trusting my other senses. I had to admit, when the rope ended I had no idea where to walk to, we only knew we had to follow the sound of a drum. I heard that but I had no idea where I was so I peeked to see if there weren’t any woodblocks or stones so that I wouldn’t fall. I must say this activity was really nice and confronting. It’s scary that we trust on our sight that much as human beings. But in the end I was glad I did it and it was a nice experience.

 

The last activity we had to do as a group was walking on a steel wire. Together we had to touch the pole which was about three meters away from another. People were only allowed to get in the line on the wire from the first pole, so the first one had to walk to the side while holding on to the next person. First we were too optimistic to get to the very end, which were about three poles. Then we adjusted our goal to reach the first pole, since this was more difficult than expected. With a few tips from our trainer Karina we managed to get further and further but still no success. She said we had to have a goal and keep that goal in mind, because when you believe it it’s more likely you reach your goal she said. With that in mind and a few practical tips we managed to reach the pole. We executed it a little different than we should have but we learned that when you can’t reach your goal with how you’re doing it at that moment you can always adjust your goal and also your working method.

 

So to conclude it all, I have learned a lot this day. First: when you get a chance, don’t think I will take it the next time, because possibly there isn’t a second. Second: most things work better when you work together with people who all believe in their goal and are willing to go for it. When the belief isn’t there you are not likely to succeed in reaching your goal, and not reaching a goal is not contributing to your quality of life. However, reaching your goals do. Third: when your goal really is impossible you can always change it, or otherwise you can adjust the working method so that it does work for you or the group. But giving up easily is also not done. First you have to try and reach the first goal of course, but also you have to be realistic and if it really doesn’t work THEN you get to change your goal. As they say: if the plan doesn’t work, change the plan, but never the goal.

 

 

Leave a comment